Day 27. Sleeeeeep

Isn’t it strange how not sleeping has become some sort of measurement as to how productive someone is? As if it’s impressive to have slept only four hours, because someone is soooo busy and look, they’re still standing!

Last year I watched nearly every one of Casey Neistat’s videos, and one thing I’ve never been able to wrap my mind around is the fact that he used to edit at night (for 2-7hrs), losing sleep in order to be able to create his high-quality daily vlog. It might’ve worked for him (it looks like it; I don’t know the man), but I don’t think it’s a great example to set for others. There are tons of studies on what sleep deprivation does to you and your performance, and even if your job does not involve saving lives, it’s nice not to make mistakes.

I used to stay up for reasons that didn’t even have anything to do with work. I’d come home after 10pm and feel this strange need to have a wander around Youtube, where I’d be until about 11.30pm, at which point I’d finally be able to pry myself away from the screen and go to sleep feeling guilty, waking up at 5.30 in the morning.

One of the best things this month has given me is more sleep. I turn off my screen at 9pm (sometimes earlier) and get ready for bed slowly, maybe with a bit of reading. If I come home after 10, turning on the computer again isn’t even an option. But most days it’s lights off before 10pm, so I get 7, sometimes even 8 hours instead of the 6 that used to be the norm.

I’m still working on my sleep quality, but we have the basics at least: time to get better sleep.

Leave a Reply

